Testing Tanya Burr Makeup

_20180316_173931

Hi guys,

Today I thought I’d do a little testing brand makeup review. I thought I’d go for a brand that I’d tried before and throw in a few of their products that I’d not yet tested. This time I’ve chosen Tanya Burr’s makeup range to review. For anyone that doesn’t know who she is I’ll briefly fill you in. She’s a Youtuber who centres her videos on makeup tutorials, vlogs and lifestyle etc. She brought out her makeup collection a while ago but new products keep getting added. So in this blog post we’ll be looking at whether these products are worth trying or not.

Birthday Suit Eyeshadow Palette

First up is the eyeshadow palette, namely the ‘Birthday Suit’ quad. There are two mattes and two shimmer shades. The mattes are a dark cocoa brown and a more pinky toned light brown. The shimmers are a pretty soft pink and a lighter cocoa brown. First things first, the pigmentation isn’t very strong and the formula isn’t very creamy. However, they are buildable and bendable, not the quickest to blend but for an affordable drugstore palette they’re still quite nice. The shimmer shades are much the same. I’d probably say that the shimmery pink is creamier than the brown shimmer but you still need to go in with it a few times to build up pigmentation. The brown shimmer called ‘Cocoa Sugar’ (cute name eh?) is much more glittery and I think chalky might be the right term, forgive me if I’m wrong. There are visible chunks of glitter in this shade and there’s a fair amount of fall out. Out of all of the shades in this palette I would definitely say that this is the cheapest looking shade along with the formula. The shades are really wearable for everyday, it is just a shame about the quality.

Quality: 2/5

Selfie Lash Mascara

I haven’t really heard many people talking about her mascara (if loads of people have been talking about this then I’ve clearly been living under a bridge) but I was watching a ‘testing makeup’ video on Youtube and saw someone use this and I really wanted to give it a try. The packaging for this is really lovely. It has a luxury feel to it and reminds me of the YSL Baby Doll mascara packaging, yet the prices are miles apart, what with the Tanya Burr one being much more affordable. I don’t know why but I didn’t think it would be that good, yet the more I’ve used it the more I love it. It has a plasticky wand and thankfully it’s not too big. The formula isn’t too wet or dry and it gives your lashes a really lovely fluffy look. To me, my lashes look much fuller when I use this, it also gives a good curl. It’s not clumpy and it doesn’t crumble down your face halfway through the day. I’ll just point out one thing, I don’t think it is a lengthening mascara. When I’ve applied to my eyelashes they look pretty much the same length as they did prior to application. If you’re into your lengthening mascaras then this might not be for you. If, however, you’re happy with the length of your eyelashes but just want volume and curl (like me) then I think you’ll really love this product.

Quality: 5/5

Pink Cocoa Lipstick

Again, I need to mention the packaging of this product. It feels luxe, it’s quite heavy and like the mascara is in a gold case. Anyway, onto the actual product. The colour is pretty much as it’s described in the name. It’s a nude pink with a more brown undertone. It’s quite nice and moisturing and has a ‘my lip colour but better’ vibe. It isn’t super longlasting so it does need to be reapplied quite regulary.

Quality: 3/5

Lunch Date Lipgloss

I cannot say enough good things about this gloss! It’s moisturising, opaque, non-sticky, great smell etc. I believe it’ll suit a lot of different skin tones and goes with nearly every single makeup look. This was the gloss that made me a fan of glosses, up until that point i thought matte lips were the way forward and this changed the game. I just think glosses look fresher and make your lips look healthier and everything else more glowy!

Quality 5/5

As I’ve been writing this post I checked the Superdrug website for these products and none of them are there! However, when I  went into Superdrug…… pretty recently actually they were all there. I’m not sure if they’re out of stock and will restock (hopefully they will) but I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for them to come back on their website.

Thanks for stopping by peeps, please feel free to like, comment and follow.

Adios!

x

Leave a comment